Why are Grocery Lists so Difficult?

You know that feeling you get when you’re avoiding something so you do something completely different that is almost always less productive? An example of this might be starting a blog instead of making a grocery list.

I like the idea of blogging. As a Millennial I am inundated with the millions of people my age who have been extremely successful at doing exactly that. Tours, books, hundreds of thousands of subscribers. You name it. I look at the world sometimes as how it might transfer to Instagram or YouTube. I make constant videos in my head, but never quite get around to bringing them to life. So here I am. All it took was a grocery list. Don’t get me wrong, I sincerely love the idea of blogging. It has changed the way we consume media and has provided a means for important conversations that we might not have had otherwise.

And I love how deliciously self-centered blogging can be while at the same time being a priceless opportunity for making the world a better place. I also appreciate and fear the fact that it is so easy to thoroughly distract myself with blogs about which food I should make for dinner while not actually making dinner. For instance, this blog about Sun-Dried Tomato, Spinach and Quinoa Salad makes this sound so good and easy to make. I know how to make quinoa and I think I even have some sun-dried tomatoes in my cupboard, but I still can’t find where I put my drive to actually go get groceries so I have the other ingredients like spinach. And bread and milk. And all of the other essentials that I’m out of. So eggs it is.

Omelet     I’ll have a cheese omelette, please. Dirty.

I also just added pepper to my grocery list, because evidently when it’s running low the pepper likes to come out all at once. I promise that I didn’t drop my omelette on the floor and then just pick it up. Or maybe I did. You’ll never know.

But seriously, can anyone not eat the corners first? It’s like they were made to be the starting point. Need food with no guess-work? Omelette. You’re welcome. (Unless you do the tri-fold technique. I never mastered that.)

So anyways, who knew that my first blog post would end up being about omelets.

We’re right in the middle of Iowa Winter which means that the high today was 14 F, and this is actually warmer than it’s been for two weeks. I’m sitting in my apartment in layers and am still cold, and I should have known that there was no way I was leaving again to go to the store.

If you’ve made it this far I’m super impressed. I probably wouldn’t have made it past the omelette picture, to be honest. But maybe my next blog post will be more exciting! I’m entering a new phase of adulating, and I’ll share it with you soon. Vincent and I have to go play with the new toy I got for him.

Vincent

Leave a Reply

